The Fort McMurray Airport Authority was incorporated under the provincial Regional Airports Authorities Act in 2009. The first board was formed in 2010 and acquired Fort McMurray Airport from the Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo. Under Alberta legislation, the Airport Authority is legally and financially independent, and operates as a non-share capital organization.

The Airport Authority is governed by a board of nine directors with a board chair. Directors are appointed through:
• Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo
• Fort McMurray Chamber of Commerce 
• Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers
• Canadian Union of Public Employees (Local 1505)
• Fort McMurray Airport Authority

Daily operations are handled by a management team led by a President and CEO. 

Leave blank for all. Otherwise, the first selected term will be the default instead of "Any".
RJ Steenstra
President and Chief Executive Officer
Cuyler Green
Vice President, Operations
Rod Hunchak
Vice President, Commercial
Denean Robinson
Director of Finance
Allan Kallal
Board Chair
Michael Chwelos
Board Member
Joanne Day
Board Member
Corie Flett
Board Member
Sheldon Germain
Board Member
Linda Huebscher
Board Member
Bill McGoey
Board Member
Mildred Ralph
Board Member
Colin Solbak
Board Member
Peter Zebedee
Board Member